Le ‘fro is back: hair regimen, current hair and other foolishness!

Soooo…I took my twists out. I know, I know, they only lasted about a month, but I couldn’t take it anymore. As I stated before in my update post, a lot of my braids around the edges were falling out, and I just couldn’t take watching my hair fall out anymore! Plus, I had two snow days last week, and I figured that was God giving me time to take those braids out!

This is what my hair looked like after I took all of my braids out:

Camera(8)

A little rough, I know, but with a little deep conditioning and patience I was able to go from that to this:

Photo on 2013-02-23 at 20.05 #3

Which brings me to the core of this post, my current hair regimen.

Shampoo (I usually alternate between these two):

  • Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Creamy Aloe Shampoo
  • Herbal Essences Hello Hydration Moisturizing Shampoo Shampooing Hydratant

Conditioner/Deep Conditioner:

  • Herbal Essences Honey, I’m Strong Strengthening Conditioner
  • Deep Conditioner for this wash consisted of: the above conditioner, honey and coconut oil

Leave-in Conditioner:

  • Curls Curl Créme Brule

Styling butter:

  • Belle Butters Green Tea Matte Shea Butter
  • Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie

Oils:

  • Coconut Oil 
  • Tea Tree Oil
  • Olive Oil

After applying the deep conditioning mixture above, I shampooed with the Herbal Essences Hello Hydration, rinsed, and applied the Herbal Essences Honey, I’m Strong and began detangling. After, I allowed my hair to air dry, until my hair was damp (as opposed to being soaking wet out of the shower). Then, I applied coconut oil to my entire head. I then, did medium-sized twists using the Curls Curl Créme Brule and coconut oil. Here are more pictures of the day after. I was going out so I pinned it up for a more fun look.

Photo on 2013-02-23 at 20.06 Photo on 2013-02-23 at 20.09

However, because I did these twists larger than usual, the definition didn’t last long. So, three days later I did smaller twists. I left these in for four days in order to achieve more definition (and because it was snowing). Products I used were Belle Butters Green Tea Matte Shea Butter and Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie. Here is how it turned out (day-old twist out):

Camera(9)

Camera(11)

Camera(12)

Camera(21)

Camera(22)

It was my first time ever using Shea Moisture for a twist out, and I can say so far so good.

Well, that is my hair-life thus far in a nut-shell. What products do you use in your regimen? Tweet me or leave a comment below!

-Esha

3 thoughts on “Le ‘fro is back: hair regimen, current hair and other foolishness!”

Leave a comment